Christianity Depth Study.

Depth Study: Christianity

Christianity Depth Study for Studies of Religion

SOR1: Christianity - Bioethics

Table of Contents Key Principles Sanctity of Life Divine Sovereignity of God Jesus’ Commandment of Love Ethical Issues - Abortion Scripture and Ethical Teachings Variant Differences: Catholicism (Completely OPPOSES) Variant Differences: Church of England/Anglicanism (OPPOSES under MOST circumstances) Christian ethics provide a guide for Christians so that their daily living reflects scriptural principles and adheres to the principles of the faith


Table of Contents Personal Context External: Efforts During the Holocaust Vatican II Contribution of Pope John XXIII through Vatican 2 Constitutions Interfaith Dialogue Ecumenism Encyclicals Pacem In Terris Personal Context Born Angelo Giuseppe Roncalli (25/Nov/1881) in Sotto il Monte, Bergamo, Lombardy, Italy

SOR1 - Principal Beliefs Of Christianity

Divinity and Humanity of Jesus Christ Divine: of or pertaining to God Jesus is 100% divine, God incarnate (made flesh) Human: of of pertaining to the nature of people Jesus is 100% Human Jesus being both 100% divine and 100% human is known as “Hypostatic Union” Jesus is the Word of God made flesh (John 1:1, John 1:14) His divinity is evident through the Gospel testimonies of the miracles and healings performed by Jesus His humanity is evident through his life as a carpenter and his suffering on the Cross Council of Nicaea - 325CE Early Christian thinkers argued over Jesus’ dual nature, and found it difficult to explain how and why God ‘was a man’.

SOR1 - Sacred Texts Of Christianity

Books of the Bible The Bible can be broken down into 2 parts: Old Testament: Hebrew Bible consisting of the 24 books of the TaNaKh (can be divided into Torah, Nevi’im and Ketuvim) Also contains the Apocrypha/Deuterocanon, which are disputed books (Catholics and Orthodox recognise these books as part of the Bible, Protestants do not) New Testament: 27 books about the life and actions of Jesus, consists of 4 Gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke, John), followed by the Acts of the Apostles, then the 21 Epistles (Letters) and the Book of Revelation.